I’m back from a trip to Maryland for Christmas with a nasty head cold and an overwhelming sense of relief to have beaten the blizzard up the Jersey Turnpike. All in all, it was a lovely holiday, and it seems that Santa (ahem) pulled off another job well done. Nevertheless, despite the holiday food and frolicking/sneezing, as always I’m very happy to be home among the laundry and the mess and the cats and even the drifts of snow piled against my back door, which I find somewhat welcoming. Tomorrow I suppose I will deal with having to dig out and get on with the business of functioning as if I don’t have a horrible head cold and a complete lack of interest in doing anything other than drinking large cups of tea and dozing off while reading, but for now, I’m listening to the wind and watching the Christmas lights disappear under the drifts and enjoying myself immensely.

I love snow.

In other good news, I have a poem–yes you read that right, a real, live poem!–coming out in the February Anderbo. Also forthcoming are stories in apt (late January), PANK (March), and Best of Eclectic Flash 2010. I’ll post information about getting your hands/eyes on these when they’re available.

Best wishes to everyone for a happy new year! Until then…

